Date Management

General Macro Scheduler discussion

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
edauthier
Pro Scripter
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: USA

Date Management

Post by edauthier » Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:33 am

Why doesn't this work?

Maybe a wish for wish for a datesub> command to retain the 0's in front of month and day for date management functions...

I am looking to subtract one day from script execution day and the receiving systems require the leading zeros on month and day.

I had trouble posting the example script correctly. ..

Code: Select all

GetDate>date
      sub>date,1
      Separate>date,/,field
            if>{(%field_1%<=9) and (%field_2%<=9)},add0monthday
      else
            if>{(%field_1%<=9) and (%field_2%=>10)},add0monthonly
      else
            if>{(%field_1%=>10) and (%field_2%<=9)},add0dayonly
      else
            if>{(%field_1%=>10) and (%field_2%=>10)},normal
      endif

label>add0monthday
        message>0%field_1%-0%field_2%-%field_3%
        goto>end
label>add0monthonly
        message>0%field_1% -%field_2%-%field_3%
        goto>end
label>add0dayonly
        message>%field_1% -0%field_2%-%field_3%
        goto>end
label>normal
       message>%field_1%-%field_2%-%field_3%
label>end

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:12 am

Sub>date,1 *does* retain zeros for me. It should return the date in your system's short date format. For me the format is not changed when I use Sub>date,1.

However, if you want more control, use VBScript's date functions. E.g. The following subtracts one from the current date and also formats the date in month/day/year format ensuring the month and day are zero prefixed:

Code: Select all

VBSTART
VBEND

VBEval>Right("0" & DatePart("m", Now()),2) & "/" & Right("0" & DatePart("d", Now()),2) & "/" & DatePart("yyyy",Now()),date
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

edauthier
Pro Scripter
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: USA

Post by edauthier » Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:21 am

Thanks very much. I am not sure why I do not have the leading zeros. This is on XP and Vista..

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:01 am

Does the clock in the system tray have a leading zero? The format is set on Control Panel > Regional and Language > Customize > Time (unless you are using a third party clock utility).

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts